top of page

The Demon Hunter-- 2


I’m supposed to be focusing on school, but today I just can’t. I decided not to break up with Jake, so I told him I just need to think. I have forgiven him for lying to me, but only because I know he was just trying to protect me.

I just don’t know what to say. Luckily it’s my last hour of the day. For some reason though I haven’t seen Jake all day, and we go to the same school.

As I’m leaving school I see Jake in one of his cars. I walk over to him because this is my chance to say something. Jake got out of his car when he saw me walk towards him. “Hi Elizabeth, how are you doing?”

“Hello, I’m doing fine,” I said smiling.

“Listen Elizabeth I...” He began to say but I quickly cut him off.

“I forgive you, and I know you were just trying to protect me. I’m not sure why I acted as I did that night,” I said looking down sadly. I felt his arms wrap around me and pull me into his chest.

“I don’t blame you, besides you were just shocked,” Jake said pulling away a little. “I got you an apology gift.”

“What is it?” I asked looking up at him.

“It’s at my house,” He said walking over to the passenger side and opening the door. “Why don’t you come meet her?”

“That sounds like fun,” I said getting in the car. He drove us to his big mansion. The mansion has three floors and a lot of rooms. We walked inside and he led me to a room. In the room there is a cat bed with a white cat on it.

“There she is,” He said as I walked over to the cat. “I know that you love cats, so I thought that maybe…”

“I love her, but does she have a name?” I asked as she got up and walked towards me. I pet right behind her ear and she purred.

“No, I wanted you to name her,” Jake said smiling and crouching next to me. “What are you going to call her?”

“I was thinking Snow. What do you think?” I asked smiling and looking up at him.

“Snow,” He said petting the cat. “I like it.”

I could not take it anymore, and I suddenly hugged him. At first he was shocked but then he smiled softly and hugged me back. “I love you.” I said hugging him tighter because I didn’t want to pull away.

“I love you too, and I promise not keep anymore secrets from you,” He said kissing my forehead. “I’ll take you and your cat home. I already bought some cat food when you need more just tell me okay?”

“Okay,” I said as we stood up. I grabbed the cat, and Jake grabbed the cat’s bed and cat food. He took me home and helped me get the stuff inside.

“I see you two are talking again. I’m guessing you two talked everything over,” Mom said smiling.

“Yeah, we are good now,” I said putting the cat down. Snow wandered around smelling a few things, then sat and looked at me.

“Aw, such a cute kitty this is!” Mom said picking up Snow and petting her.

“Her name is Snow,” I said as Jake walked to my room. I followed and he set the stuff down in my room.

“If you ever need anything just call me, okay?” He asked looking at me.

“Okay,” I said as he kissed my forehead. I blushed just a little and he smiled. We stared into each other’s eyes, and we started to lean in. His breath was warm against my lips, and then we kissed. His hands were wrapped around my waist, and my hands were on his arms.

When we pulled away I rested my head on his chest. “I’m sorry that you almost got hurt because of me,” He said putting a hand on my head. We pulled away from the hug, and I smiled at him. “I will see you tomorrow at school.”

“Bye,” I said as he left, and I sat on my bed. Snow walked in and jumped onto my bed. She looked at me, and I started to pet her behind her ear. I could hear her purring and then I looked out my window. It is starting to get late, so I changed into my blue pajamas.

I walked out into the living room to the smell of spaghetti. I smiled and walked into the kitchen. Dad is cooking the meat, and mom is making the noodles. “Elizabeth set the table please,” Mom asked glancing at me, and then going back to what she was doing.

I walked over to the cabinet with the plate, and grabbed three out. I walked over to the table and set them down. Then, I grabbed forks and put one next to each plate. They brought the spaghetti over and set it on the table. We all sat and put some of the food on our plates.

“You never told us what you and Jake got into a fight over,” My dad said putting some of the spaghetti in his mouth. I froze for a second. What am I supposed to tell them? I can’t just say that I found out my boyfriend is a demon hunter.

“Oh, leave it alone. It’s not like it was anything serious. Jake is a good kid and you know it,” Mom said looking at dad, and then at me. “You don’t have to tell us if you don’t want too.”

“Did he cheat on you?” Dad asked looking at me.

“He didn’t cheat on me, dad. Jake would never do that to me.” I said then took a drink of my water. For the rest of dinner we talked about how school is, and how my dad’s work is. Dad works at an airport and fixes their planes for a living.

I helped mom clean the dishes. When we were done I gave Snow some water and cat food. Snow curled up and laid in her bed, which is next to mine. After I turned off my lights I laid in my bed. I stared up at the ceiling, and tried to sleep. For some reason I just could not fall asleep.

The moonlight came in through my window, and I stared out of it. The stars are twinkling above in the night sky, and the moon is in its crescent shape. What have I gotten myself into? I’m not sure what is going to happen, but I know it is going to be very strange for me.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page