top of page

A Vampire's Dark Heart Prolouge

“Get back here!” My attackers yelled as I ran. I had run straight into the Blood Forest, knowing death would probably soon follow. Though I was scared, what those men would have done would be worse than death. As I continued to run, my legs gave out. I fell in a small field with flowers growing everywhere. My legs throbbed from all the running. Maybe it's not the best idea, but I laid completely down in the grass. My eyes slowly closed as I drifted to sleep in the midday sun. I know I can never return home. I'm not sure where I'll go to be honest, but for now I'll sleep. When I woke up, I slowly opened my eyes. I'm met by glowing red eyes staring into mine. Vampire! Quickly, I sat up and moved away from him. My eyes plead for him not to hurt me, but he just looked back. “Who are you?” He asked with a deep, husky voice. “I-I’m A-Alice… my v-village was a-attacked.” I stuttered out, trying not to show my fear. Even if I wasn't scared, I would still stutter. “I pr-promise to l-leave your f-forest. Th-though, I do n-not h-have a-anything to pay you w-with. I w-will do a-anything, just pl-please d-don’t k-kill me.” His face turned a little red and he turned away from me. “I won't hurt you. Please, Sweet Alice, follow me.” He said beginning to walk. I stood and quickly followed him, having nowhere else to go. “U-Um… d-do you m-mind me a-asking you a q-question?” I asked simply getting a glance as an answer. “Wh-what if y-your n-name?” “My name is Victor. You will live in my castle. The humans that attacked your village can not hurt you there.” He said pointing to the castle in the close yet far distance. “I will make you as comfortable as possible. So, if there is anything you want or need, let me know.” “O-Okay. Th-thank you, V-Victor.” I felt I could trust him. He smiled at me as we entered the walls of his castle. The castle is magnificent. “W-wow.” I'm struck by awe at the beauty of everything. “You may wonder the grounds, but do not leave the walls of the castle. I'm not the only vampire in the forest.” He warned me, and I nodded, smiling at him. “O-okay, I pr-promise to st-stay in the c-castle w-walls.” I said before he suddenly disappeared, probably by using his vampire speed. I wandered around the inside the castle. As I walked I noticed that no one else lives in his castle. He must get lonely here all alone. Even vampires need someone to talk to and be friends with. “Hey.” Victor suddenly appeared in front of me. Of course I was startled, so I jumped. “I'm sorry, I didn't mean to scare you.” “It's f-fine. You d-didn’t m-mean to.” I smiled, then looked at him sadly. “You m-must g-get l-lonely.” “Yeah, it did get pretty lonely, but now you are here. I have prepared a room for you, are you still tired?” Victor raised an eyebrow as he looked at me. “No, I f-fell a-asleep m-midday. I-It’s al-already n-night. I m-must h-have sl-slept for a wh-while.” I heard my stomach growl, my face turning red. “S-sorry, g-guess I’m a l-little h-hungry.” “I suppose you would be. The kitchen is this way.” Victor led me to the kitchen which holds enough food to feed an army. Now I don't know what to eat. “You are more than welcome to any of the food here. I do eat human food, but I don't have to. If you would like, I can cook for you.” “No, it's o-okay. I'm j-just not s-sure wh-what to e-eat.” I examined all the food in the kitchen. “Go sit at the table. I will make you some food. No arguing.” Victor turned me towards the dining room table. I stood there for a moment. “Go on, I'll bring you the food when it’s ready.” “O-okay.” I walk to the dining room. The chairs are comfortable. I stared at my hands that sat in my lap. Thoughts began to cross my mind about Victor. What if Victor is one of the ones that has been killing the people that enter the forest? No, he’s not like that. My thoughts always bring me to the bright side of things. The reason for my stutter is my shyness, which comes from this just a little. The people in my village always called it cute and adorable. “Here, Sweet Alice, your food.” Victor said as I looked at the plate of food. A big steak sat on the plate along with a bit of salad. After placing the plate in front of me, he gave me a cup of water. “Th-thank you, V-Victor.” I smiled as I looked at him, and he blushed, looking away. “It's nothing. I'm not just going to let you starve.” Victor sat next to me while he spoke. After I ate, he led me to my room, I was finally getting tired. The bed has a thick blanket. In the closet were many options for clothes that would fit me. “Wh-where is the b-bathroom? I c-could use a b-bath.” I looked over at him as he thought for a moment. “The door to your left leads to your bathroom. You are more than welcome to have the clothes in your closet.” Victor said as I looked at my slightly torn clothing. “T-thank you a-again.” I smiled before he left. From the closet I grabbed a white sweater dress and light blue leggings. After filling the tub with warm water then settled in. I sighed feeling relaxed and safe. I'm happy it was Victor that found me. Finally, I cleaned myself up. Once out, I got dressed and went to explore more of the castle before sleeping. 


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page