top of page

The Demon Hunter-- 1

I’m the type of girl that sits quietly in the back of the class. The girl you will probably never notice, but I like it that way. If anyone did notice I would be known as the broken girl. My family has no money, and my dad is lucky enough to have a job. We can barely afford our house and food. It always pushes me to do my hardest at school.

“Elizabeth, come here please! Jake is here to see you!” My mother yelled with her happy voice. I snapped back to reality.

“I’m coming!” I yelled getting out of my ocean blue bed. I walked over to my mirror and looked at my bright blue eyes, and my long black hair. Then, I ran into the living room where Jake was seated on the couch. Jake has been my boyfriend for a month now, and I have always trusted him. His blonde hair just covering part of his face, and his dark brown eyes locked in gaze with mine.

“Hey Elizabeth, you look very pretty,” Jake said hugging me. As always he is wearing his black suit and tie. I am not sure why he complimented my look. I am just wearing a white t-shirt and blue skinny jeans.

“Thank you,” I said smiling as he pulled away.

“Would you like to go out to dinner?” Jake asked moving some hair from in front of my face.

“I don’t know,” I frowned looking from my parents to Jake.

“You should go,” My dad said as both my parents looked at me. Their expressions told me to go.

“Okay I will go, but let me get changed first,” I sighed giving in to my parents look.

“Good meet me outside please,” Jake said standing up and walking outside. I went to my room and got changed into my red spaghetti strap knee length dress. Then, I put on my red flats and walked outside. Jake was waiting outside in his silver Porsche.

“I’m ready,” I smiled as he opened the passenger door for me. I got in and he went to his side and got in. Jake turned the car on and started driving. “So, where are we going?”

“You will see soon,” Jake smiled as he continued to drive. A few minutes later we arrived at a public parking spot. We got out of the car, and Jake locked it. “It’s a little bit of a walk from here.”

“Ok,” I grabbed his hand as we were walking but he quickly pulled his hand away. “Come on Jake. We have been dating for a month. When are you going to hold my hand in public?”

Jake was silent but he glanced at me. I noticed the name of the restaurant was called The Moon Tavern. I have only heard of this place, because it is so expensive.

“Wow,” I awed at the beauty of the restaurant.

“Even for me it took forever to get us reservations,” He said as we entered the restaurant.

“Name please sir,” A waiter with light brown hair and dark brown eyes said to us.

“Jake Wolfe.”

“Your table is right this way.”

I noticed that as he led us to the table he kind of looked at me with a smirk. We sat at a table he led us to, and handed us menus.

“Order anything you want,” Jake said grabbing my hand.

“Okay Jake but explain to me why you don’t normally hold my hand,” I demanded that he give me an explanation, but I was also a little worried.

“I can’t tell you,” He tightened his grip.

“Why can’t you tell me?”

“I just… I don’t want to put you in danger,” Sadness took over his voice. This is making me start to worry about him.

“What do you mean danger?” I questioned.

“Please just stop asking questions,” He looked me straight in the eyes. I opened my mouth to say something else, but I quickly closed it. “Just order what you want, okay?”

“Okay,” Defeated I ended up ordering a steak. By the time we left it was dark, and a little scary. These streets are dangerous at night. While we were walking Jake looked behind us and muttered something under his breath. He quickly grabbed my arm and started walking faster. “Jake, what is going on?”

I turned and saw a man running towards us. Jake suddenly picked me up and started running. He carried me the whole way to the car. “Get in.” Jake opened my door quickly after he had put me down. I got in and he ran to his side he was about to get in when, the man grabbed him and threw him to the ground. He appeared on my side and ripped the door off.

The man is the waiter from the restaurant. He grabbed my arm, and pulled me out of the car. His skin was really cold. “You must be Elizabeth. My friends have told me so much about you.” He said getting really close to my face. I was trying to pull away but he was holding both of my arms and he just pulled me against him. I started to shake out of fear and he smirked. “I love that you’re scared, it makes me happy.”

“Get away from her Brian! I have a lot of wooden bullets, and don’t make me use them!” Jake said holding a pistol up, and pointing it at Brian. Brian threw me to the ground and disappeared. Jake ran over to me as I stood up slowly. He pulled me into his arms. “Are you okay Elizabeth?”

“Y-yes I’m fine, but what just happened?” I asked really confused.

“Vampire, I will explain it all when we get back to your house,” Jake said taking his phone out. “I’ll call my driver to come pick us up.”

“Okay,” I said in a bit of shock. About 20 minutes later his driver came.

“Sorry that it took so long sir,” Brian said opening the back seat car door. Brian is Jake’s butler, driver, and cook. He has more cooks and butlers, but he is good friends with Brian.

“It is okay just take us to Elizabeth’s house please,” Jake said as we got into the car.

“Yes sir,” Brian said as he got in on the driver’s side and started driving. He drove us to my house, and the whole ride I was silent. Brian waited outside as Jake took me to my room. I locked my door so my parents couldn’t come in. We both sat on my bed.

“Are you sure you want to know everything?”

“Yes because I deserve an explanation.”

“Before I tell you Elizabeth, you must promise not to tell anyone,” He said looking into my eyes. “Also you must promise not to be scared.”

I was confused at first, but then I nodded a yes. He opened his mouth to say something but there was a knock at the door. I walked to my door and unlocked it to see my mom.

“I thought I heard you come in,” She said smiling.

“Yeah, Jake and I were just talking,” I said as she started to walk away.

“Okay just don’t stay up late,” She said as I closed the door and locked it again. This time I didn’t sit.

“I’m a demon hunter, and that guy that attacked us is a vampire,” He said as I just stared confused.

“What do you mean by hunter?”

“I hunt and kill demons, but only ones that do wrong. Some of them decided to live peacefully among humans.”

“You kill people?” I asked a bit frightened.

“Elizabeth,” He said sadly standing up and pulling me into a hug. “I try not to kill, and I promise there is no reason for you to be scared.”

I pushed him away. “Get out,” I said as I looked down.

“Okay, just be careful,” He said leaving my room. After he was gone I looked in my mirror, and saw tears streaming down my face. My mom walked in with a worried face.

“Why did Jake look sad when he was leaving? Did you two have a fight?” She asked as I sat on my bed. My mom sat next to me pulling me into a hug. “It’s okay you two will work things out. Even the best couples have fights.”

My mom left and I have school tomorrow so I went to sleep. I hope that I’ll be able to pay attention in class tomorrow.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page