top of page

Apocalyptic Love- 3


Chapter 3- Let Him Go

I walk to the gun range, where Madison is practicing alone. She is currently putting more bullets in her gun. “Hi Madison…” I said a bit depressed.

“Let me guess, they didn’t let him him go?” She asked as I nodded a no. “I’m sorry, I should have listened to you. You will get over it though.”

“I guess, if you need me I’ll be walking by the park.” I said waving while I walked off. A sigh escaped my lips once I was far enough. The sky was dark with storm clouds. This is quite odd, we never get storms here.

When it got late I walked home, dad was on the couch, passed out. I decided to not eat dinner, and just went to up to my room. I put my blue pajamas, and crawled onto my bed. Most of the night I laid staring at the ceiling. An hour or so before the sun started rising, I sat up and got out of bed.

I'm going to go see Zach, the building should be empty now. Quietly, I sneak down stairs, and steal my dads key. Once I'm in the science building, I put the key in the back pocket of my jeans.

"Zach? Are you okay?" I asked as he looked at me from his cage.

"Yes, I'm fine." He said with a smile. "Don't be sad though, this isn't your fault. I knew there was a chance this would happen."

"Then why did you bring me back? I could have just walked." I said as he chuckled a bit.

"I wanted to make sure you got back here safely." He said reaching out and grabbing my hand. For being half-dead, he was surprisingly war. A slight blush came to my face.

We were just staring into each others eyes, until the siren went off. Our stare stopped, and we both looked at the ground. The siren kept blaring which started to worry me.

"They broke into the camp. Isn't that what the siren means?" He asked looking back up.

"Yeah, this isn't good. I need to go." I said about to leave but he grabbed my hand.

"It's dangerous, you might get hurt." Zach said with a worried tone. "At least wait for me."

He easily broke the bars on the cell, and stepped out. "Why didn't you do that before?" I asked a bit shocked.

"I didn't want to accidentally hurt anyone. I'll follow you and keep you safe wherever you need to go." He said as I nodded. We left the science building, and I stayed close to him. Everyone was gone, so they must be in the emergency shelter.

"I can't get to the shelter." I said stopping in front of it. The giant door was already locked, and Madison is the only one with a key.

"Don't worry, I won't let them hurt you. I promise." He said giving me a gentle smile. There were zombies starting to head towards us, and there were a lot of them.

They were getting really close and I started shaking in fear. He pulled me into a hug and they started to ignore me. "Wh-what's going on?" I asked with a slight stutter.

"I'm masking your scent. They can't tell you're here. So, calm down. I'll keep my promise." He said petting my hair gently. "Now, you pathetic zombies, leave."

After he said this, they started to leave the camp. When they were all out he released me and I went to the shelter. "Hey! It's safe to come out now!" I yelled knocking the code on the door.

They opened the door and came out. "Angel, the half zombie is behind you!" One of the residents yelled as Zach put his hands in the air. "What is he doing?"

"I have no intention of hurting anyone. Put me back in the cell if it will make you feel safer." He said as two scientist walked up to him cautiously.

"Stop!" I yelled as they were about to chain his hands again. They looked at me, stopping what they were doing. "Do you think the zombies just left? He made them leave and protected me."

Zach smiled at me while the scientist pulled away. "He really did that? But why? Is he just manipulating her?" One of the scientist asked looking from me to Zach.

"I would never pull such a petite trick on her. I'm not like the others of my kind. They are real monsters." Zach said looking back at the fence. "I will help you fix the fence if you would like."

"That would be great." Madison said smiling. "We could use your help protecting this place. In exchange for your protection, we will let you stay here."

"Thank you." Zach said shaking her hand. She nodded happily, and after that they started to fix the fence. I sat and watched Zach work.

While they were working. Madison was yelling at the rest of the camp. They have to fix anything that might have gotten broken. It took them a few hours to fix the fence, even with Zach's help.

When they were done, Zach walked up to me. "Hey, thanks for defending me when they tried to stick me back in the cage." He said with a big smile. I looked up from the ground and smiled back.

"I should be thanking you for protecting me." I said letting out a slight laugh. Zach sat down with a sad look on his face. I looked at him a bit confused.

"Your mom, was she really killed by zombies?" Zach asked as I started having flashback. The memory of her dead body passed through. I choked a bit, not wanting to remember.

"Yes, though when she died, I was hiding in the house." I said tears streaming down my cheeks. He noticed and wiped my tears away.

"I wish I had been there. I would have helped her." Zach said as I rested my head on his shoulder.

"Thank you for being so nice." I cried into his shoulder/ He smiled and wiped my tears away once more.

"I just like to see your smile. It's late." He said making me blush a lot. He laughed happily. "A bit shy?"

"No one has ever been this nice before." I said really flustered. He looked a bit shocked when I said that.

"But you're beautiful. I don't see a reason not to say it." He said making my blush deeper. I don't think y face can get any redder.

"Th-thank you." I said flustered to the point that I was stuttering. He has to be messing with , but he doesn't look. Before the day I met him I could never think of being friends with a half-zombie. I don't think anyone would have. Half-zombies are considered the deadliest.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page